Marshall Lectures

r-holcomb-8532-2George C. Marshall, future five-star General of the Army and Army Chief of Staff, was a Vancouver resident from 1936-38 when he commanded Vancouver Barracks and supervised the Northwest's Civilian Conservation Corps camps. He heads the list of Vancouver's most distinguished 20th century residents. 

The Marshall Lecture is the cornerstone event of Celebrate Freedom, a program of the Fort Vancouver National Trust, in partnership with the City of Vancouver. The Marshall Lecture honors the character and principles of General George C. Marshall, who served at Vancouver Barracks as Commander of the 5th Infantry Brigade from 1936 to 1938. During his tenure as Commander, General Marshall hosted the ANT-25 flyers upon their arrival at the Army Air Corps field. The George C. Marshall Lectures focus on three phases of Marshall’s career: his time in Vancouver, his achievements as a military leader, and the impact of his work as Secretary of State.  In 1953, Marshall received the Nobel Peace Prize, the only professional soldier ever so honored.  The award recognized the Marshall Plan, which provided an alternative to totalitarianism, and gave Europe’s countries the economic strength by which they might choose freedom.  

Past lecturers include:

2013       Robert Gates, 22nd United States Secretary of Defense  external link

2010       Johnathan Jarvis, Director of the National Park Service 

2007       General Peter Pace, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff 

2005       Lt. General Claude M. Kicklighter, USA (Ret) Chief of Staff, Department of Veterans Affairs

2003       Rear Admiral Marsha J. Evans (Ret.), American Red Cross President and CEO 

2002       Rt. Honorable Christopher Patten, C.H., European Commissioner for External Relations 

2002       Senator Daniel Inouye, United States Senator, Hawaii

2000       Tom Brokaw, author of The Greatest Generation 

1998       Madeleine Albright, United States Secretary of State 

1997       Bill Richardson, United States Ambassador to the United Nations 

1996       H. Merrill Pasco, the last surviving member of General Marshall’s staff 

1995       Ambassador Paul H. Nitze, Chairman, Washington Institute for Foreign Affairs 

1994       Ambassador Rozanne Ridgeway, co-chair of the Atlantic Council of the United States

1993      General Andrew Jackson Goodpaster, who worked closely with General Marshall during WWII 

1992       Admiral Ronald F. Marryott, President of the George C. Marshall Foundation

1991      General Colin L. Powell, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

1990      General Sam S. Walker USA (Ret), lived next door to General Marshall on Vancouver’s Officers Row, and whose father, Walton Walker, was Marshall’s aide. 

1988      Dr. Forrest C. Pogue, Marshall’s biographer


2013 General George C. Marshall Lecturer Robert Gates