Fort Vancouver Blog

Program Manager
Fort Vancouver National Trust

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Login
    Login Login form
Posted by Natalie Hantho on Thursday, 02 March 2017 in Celebrate Freedom Programs

2017 Marshall Leadership Award Nominees Announced

Eight Clark County residents have been nominated for the General George C. Marshall Adult Leadership Award, and 22 Clark County high school seniors have been nominated for the General George C. Marshall Youth Leadership Award. The two 2017 award recipients will be announced at a ceremony at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 22 at the Providence Academy. The keynote speaker at this year's General George C. Marshall Leadership Award ceremony will be Washington Lieutenant Governor, Cyrus Habib. Tickets are available at

The Marshall Adult & Youth Leadership Awards, honoring the legacy of General George C. Marshall, are sponsored by Riverview Community Bank and organized by the Fort Vancouver National Trust as one of its many Celebrate Freedom programs. This is the 17th year honoring the youth in our community and the 28th year honoring adult leaders. From 1936 to 1938 when Marshall lived in Vancouver, he was a Brigadier General and served as Commander of the 5th Infantry Brigade at Vancouver Barracks. During World War II, Marshall served as the Chief of Staff of the U.S. Army. He was Secretary of State (1947-1949) and was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his work on the Marshall Plan, which helped rebuild the economies of Europe and the Pacific nations after the war.

"General Marshall's contributions to our world, nation, and region provide a lasting example of selfless service and leadership that are in high demand today. His characteristics of honesty, integrity, strong work ethic and humility set an inspirational framework for the leaders of today and the up and coming leaders. This year, we received several outstanding candidates from across Clark County that exemplify some of the traits of General Marshall. It is inspiring to see the talented and capable leaders that live and work here in Clark County," said Phil Haberthur, chair of the Marshall Public Leadership Award selection committee.

Nominees for the 2017 General George C. Marshall Adult Leadership Award are:
Katie Archer, Archer Public Affairs
D. Max Ault, Columbia River Economic Development Council (CREDC)
Alex Major, Army National Guard - EHS DECA
Whitney McMillin, Area Agency on Aging & Disabilities of SW WA
Sean Philbrook, Identity Clark County
Michael Pond, Young Democrats of Clark County
Bradley Richardson, Clark County Historical Museum
Jenny Thompson, Police Activities League


The Adult Leadership Award recipient will receive a scholarship to participate in the Leadership Clark County program, and a scholarship to tour the Marshall Foundation in Lexington, Virginia and visit Washington, D.C. The recipient also will participate in Celebrate Freedom programs throughout the year and will have opportunities to meet with local elected officials.

The recipients are selected by the Marshall Selection Committee, which consists of community members and is chaired by Phil Haberthur. Other committee members are Dr. Leslie Burger, retired Army general; Larry Smith, retired Mayor pro tempore; Maggie Traverso, Riverview Community Bank; and previous Marshall Award Recipients, Jordan Boldt and Paige Spratt. Selection is based on, demonstrated leadership ability, commitment to public service, academic achievement, and potential for an ongoing active role in public service.

Nominees for the 2017 Marshall Youth Leadership Award are:

Morgan Dunn, Camas High School
Sydney Fox-Middleton, Vancouver iTech Preparatory
Sydney Friauf, Skyview High School
Dana Fulham, Skyview High School
Andrew Hill , Henrietta Lacks Health and Bioscience High School
William Janney, Vancouver iTech Preparatory
Nick Jokela, Columbia Adventist Academy, Youth Commission
Nicholas Krane, Skyview High School
Isaac Larson, Skyview High School
Ethan Mayers, Hudson's Bay High School
Sarah Mitchell, Mountain View High School
Sophie Muro, Camas High School
Courtney Nuttal-Nester, Hudson's Bay High School
Alyssa Peterson, Cedar Tree Classical Christian School
Julieta Rendon-Mendoza, Union High School
Aidan Ryan, Seton Catholic High School
Alexis Sabatini, Camas High School
Daniel Scalberg, Union High School
Benjamin Shannon, Battle Ground High School
Morgan Ustick, Ridgefield High School
Akiva Wells, Hudson's Bay High School
Ernesto Zurita, Heritage High School


The Youth Leadership Award recipient will receive a $2,500 college scholarship, a $500 paid summer internship in the Trust's Celebrate Freedom office, opportunity to meet with local elected representatives, opportunity to participate in Celebrate Freedom events including Independence Day at Fort Vancouver, Flag Day at Fort Vancouver and Veterans Parade at Fort Vancouver.

The recipients are selected by the Marshall Youth Award Selection Committee, which is co-chaired by Marshall Public Leadership Award Recipients, Tom Hagley, Jr. and Dr. Mike Stromme and includes community members Sharon Pesut, Richard Keller, and Paige Spratt. Selection is based on the nominee's activities and projects demonstrating the values of General Marshall represented as one of America's leading citizens and soldiers.

Rate this blog entry:
Tags: Array