Fort Vancouver Blog

Program Manager
Fort Vancouver National Trust

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Login
    Login Login form
Posted by Natalie Hantho on Friday, 24 March 2017 in President’s Column

2017 General George C. Marshall Leadership Award Recipients Announced


The Trust announced the recipients of the General George C. Marshall Public & Youth Leadership Awards at a ceremony Wednesday evening, March 22 at the Providence Academy.

Max Ault was honored as the 2017 General George C. Marshall Public Leadership Award recipient.

Camas High School Senior Sophie Muro was recognized as the 2017 General George C. Marshall Youth Leadership Award recipient.

The ceremony featured an address by the Washington State Lieutenant Governor Cyrus Habib, as well as recognition of all the nominees.

Ault is the 28th recipient of Marshall Public Leadership Award. Ault is Vice President and Director of Business Development for the Columbia River Economic Development Council (CREDC). In a letter of recommendation, Mike Bomar wrote “Max plays a critical role in our organization and in economic vitality for Clark County. Beyond his work at the CREDC, Max participates in various civic and professional growth efforts. His passion for helping others has resulted in changing lives for the better and has built him a network of many of the community’s most respected leaders. He is respected and admired by his colleagues and is a key member of a very hard working team that takes their mission, but not themselves, very seriously.”

As recipient of the Marshall Public Leadership Award, Ault will travel to Lexington, Virginia, to tour the Marshall Foundation, and to Colonial Williamsburg and Washington, D.C. He will also participate in the nine-month Leadership Clark County Program. Ault will engage in the Fort Vancouver National Trust’s Celebrate Freedom programs throughout the year.

“We were very pleased with the quality of the nominees for this year’s award” said Public Leadership Award Committee Chair, Phil Haberthur. “Eight outstanding individuals participated in the process, making the selection extremely difficult. Ault’s qualifications, specifically his leadership and commitment serving this community, were really remarkable.”

The General George C. Marshall Youth Leadership Award is presented to a Clark County high school student who demonstrates leadership, takes a stand for the rights of others, serves as a role model and shows initiative and motivates others to become involved. Muro was recognized for these qualities. Program Coordinator for Clark County Community Services Kris Henriksen stated “I truly find Sophie Muro to personify all the marvelous qualities in young people: leader, helper, role model, change agent, and historian. You could not ask for a better example of a younger person not waiting until they are an adult to positively impact their community in such an array of ways.”

As recipient of the Marshall Youth Leadership Award, Muro will participate as an intern in the Celebrate Freedom programs office. She also receives a $2,500 college scholarship.

Selection Committee members of the Marshall Youth Leadership Award were impressed with the high caliber of dedication and accomplishments demonstrated by this year’s twenty-two nominees. "We extend our heartfelt congratulations and best wishes to the recipient, Sophie Muro, and all of the award nominees," said Tom Hagley Jr., Marshall Youth Leadership Award selection committee co-chair. "This program continues to spotlight the outstanding service contributions and future leadership potential of youth in Clark County."

The Trust would like to thank all participants of this program and awards event and looks forward to continuing the tradition next year. Special thanks go to Riverview Community Bank for their sponsorship of the General George C. Marshall Public & Youth Leadership award programs. We are also grateful for 40 et 8, Voiture 99’s support of the youth scholarship. These important leadership programs would not be possible without the support of these generous sponsors.



Rate this blog entry:
Tags: Array