Fort Vancouver Blog

Program Manager
Fort Vancouver National Trust

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Login
    Login Login form
Posted by Natalie Hantho on Wednesday, 24 February 2016 in Celebrate Freedom Programs

2016 Marshall Public & Youth Leadership Award Nominees Announced

Five Clark County residents have been nominated for the General George C. Marshall Public Leadership Award and 37 Clark County High School Seniors have been nominated for the General George C. Marshall Youth Leadership Award. The 2016 award recipients will be announced at a ceremony at 6 p.m. on Wednesday, March 9 at the Fort Vancouver Artillery Barracks Building, followed by a dinner reception. The ceremony will be televised later on CVTV. For more information contact the Fort Vancouver National Trust at 360-992-1804 or visit

The Marshall Public & Youth Leadership Awards, honoring the legacy of General George C. Marshall, are sponsored by Riverview Community Bank and organized by the Fort Vancouver National Trust as one of its many Celebrate Freedom programs. This is the 15th year honoring the youth in our community and the 27th year honoring our public leaders. From 1936 to 1938 when Marshall lived in Vancouver, he was a Brigadier General and served as Commander of the 5th Infantry Brigade at Vancouver Barracks. During World War II, Marshall served as the Chief of Staff of the U.S. Army. He was Secretary of State (1947-1949) and was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his work on the Marshall Plan, which helped rebuild the economies of Europe and the Pacific nations after the war.

“General Marshall’s contributions to our world, nation, and region provide a lasting example of selfless service and leadership that are in high demand today. His characteristics of honesty, integrity, strong work ethic and humility set an inspirational framework for the leaders of today and the up and coming leaders. This year, we received several outstanding candidates from across Clark County that exemplify some of the traits of General Marshall. It is inspiring to see the talented and capable leaders that live and work here in Clark County,” said Phil Haberthur, chair of the Marshall Public Leadership Award selection committee.

Nominees for the 2016 Marshall Public Leadership Award are:

Chelsea Chunn, SW Washington Workforce Development Council

Craig Ebersole, Clark College

Scott Schachterle, SEH America

Paige Spratt, Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt

Jessica Tijerina-Turpeinen, A Merry Heart Events, Owner

The Public Leadership Award recipient will receive a scholarship to participate in the Leadership Clark County program, and a scholarship to tour the Marshall Foundation in Lexington, Virginia and visit Colonial Williamsburg and Washington, D.C. The recipient also will participate in Celebrate Freedom programs throughout the year and will have opportunities to meet with local elected officials.

The recipients are selected by the Marshall Selection Committee, which consists of community members and is chaired by Phil Haberthur. Other committee members are Dr. Leslie Burger, retired Army general; Larry Smith, retired Mayor pro tempore; Maggie Traverso, Riverview Community Bank; Sheryl Beauchaine; and previous Marshall Award Recipients, John McIlvain, Jordan Boldt, and John Blom. Selection is based on, demonstrated leadership ability, commitment to public service, academic achievement, and potential for an ongoing active role in public service.



Nominees for the 2016 Marshall Youth Leadership Award are:

Autumn Beck Fort Vancouver High School

Thomas Brennan Hockinson High School

Elizabeth Bronder Hudson's Bay High School

Hallie Brosius Hockinson High School

Kellen Butler Battle Ground High School

Leticia Chacon Fort Vancouver High School

Astrid DuBois Vancouver iTech Preparatory

Jorie Freitag Seton Catholic High School

Trey Gullickson Prairie High School

Jourdan Hale Mountain View High School

Kaitlyn Hill Vancouver iTech Preparatory

Aléna Jarvis Battle Ground High School

Meleah Kainu King's Way Christian High School

Patrick Keller Prairie High School

Makena Kerr Fort Vancouver High School

Sarah Kleier Columbia River High School

Ethan Knight Mountain View High School

Christina Lundy Mountain View High School

Matthew McBroom Hudson's Bay High School

Mackenna McClone Seton Catholic High School

Deanna Medina Fort Vancouver High School

Jenna Melanson La Center High School

Christopher Mitchell Mountain View High School

Cassidy Moe Union High School

Nerissa Morrow Evergreen High School

Xuan Nhi T. Nguyen Fort Vancouver High School

Scout Osborne La Center High School

Sequoia Pullella-Barca Vancouver iTech Preparatory

Clayton Rajewich King's Way Christian High School

Tristan Ryan Seton Catholic High School

Zachary Sandoval iTech Preparatory

Courtney Schmit Vancouver iTech Preparatory

Emily Torjusen Vancouver iTech Preparatory

Emily Turcic King's Way Christian High School

Anais Urias Seton Catholic High School

Max VanArnam Ridgefield High School

Makenzie Wilson Vancouver iTech Preparatory

The Youth Leadership Award recipient will receive a $2,500 college scholarship, a $500 paid summer internship in the Trust’s Celebrate Freedom office, opportunity to meet with local elected representatives, opportunity to participate in Celebrate Freedom events including Independence Day at Fort Vancouver, Flag Day at Fort Vancouver and Veterans Parade at Fort Vancouver, and a biography of General George C. Marshall.

The recipients are selected by the Marshall Youth Award Selection Committee, which is co-chaired by Marshall Public Leadership Award Recipients, Tom Hagley, Jr. and Dr. Mike Stromme and includes community members Sharon Pesut, Twyla Barnes, and Paula Martin. Selection is based on the nominee's activities and projects demonstrating the values of General Marshall represented as one of America’s leading citizens and soldiers.

rh021716 4651

Rate this blog entry:
Tags: Array