Fort Vancouver Blog

Program Manager
Fort Vancouver National Trust

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Login
    Login Login form
Posted by Natalie Hantho on Thursday, 10 March 2016 in Celebrate Freedom Programs

2016 General George C. Marshall Public & Youth Leadership Award Winners Announced


The Trust announced the winners of the General George C. Marshall Public & Youth Leadership Awards at a ceremony Wednesday evening at 6:00pm. The dinner featured an address by Dr. Rob Havers, President of the General George C. Marshall Foundation, as well as recognition for all the nominees and the announcement of the 2016 recipients.

At the event, Paige Spratt was honored as the 2016 General George C. Marshall Public Leadership Award recipient. She is the 27th recipient of this prestigious community award honoring the legacy of previous Vancouver resident General George C. Marshall.

An attorney and a mother, Paige Spratt volunteers throughout the community in a variety of organizations. In a letter of recommendation, John Vanderkin wrote “I have had the pleasure of working with Paige and seeing her impact on the community at large… Paige has demonstrated a very strong commitment to serve the SW Washington region and provides engaged and thoughtful leadership within the organizations she serves… On behalf of the SWWDC board we are delighted to have access to the leadership, community support and business strength that Paige is able to provide. We are a stronger organization due to her ongoing involvement and by extension a stronger community as a result of her dedication and commitment.”

As recipient of the Marshall Public Leadership Award, Spratt will travel to Lexington, Virginia, to tour the Marshall Foundation, and to Colonial Williamsburg and Washington, D.C. She will also enhance her public leadership skills by participating in the nine-month Leadership Clark County Program. Spratt also will engage in the Fort Vancouver National Trust’s Celebrate Freedom programs throughout the year and will have opportunities to meet with local elected officials.

“We were very pleased with the quality of the nominees for this year’s Award” said Public Leadership Award Committee Chair, Phil Haberthur. “Five outstanding individuals participated in the process, making the selection extremely difficult. Spratt’s qualifications, specifically her leadership and commitment serving this community, were really remarkable.”

Also at the Marshall Award Dinner, Battle Ground High School Senior Alena Jarvis was recognized as the 2016 General George C. Marshall Youth Leadership Award recipient. This prestigious award was established in 2000 by two former Marshall Public Leadership Award recipients and is presented to a Clark County high school student who demonstrates leadership, takes a stand for the rights of others, serves as a role model and shows initiative and motivates others to become involved.

In her nomination materials, AF JROTC Senior Instructor Col (Ret) Brian Brown described Alena as their “# 1 cadet in the Battle Ground High School, WA Air Force JROTC program, consisting over 103 cadets. She was unanimously selected as our Corps Commander for the Fall 2015 semester due to her unsurpassed excellence in performance, leadership, academics and athletics.

She has played a key role in the tremendous success leading Battle Ground's HS JROTC program. She leads the team with the highest ethics, morals, courage, teamwork, and dedication to the sport. She is recognized as a tremendous role model and positive example as well as an inspiration to all.”

As recipient of the Marshall Youth Leadership Award, Jarvis will participate as an intern in the Celebrate Freedom programs office. She also receives a $2,500 college scholarship, and has been academically accepted to The Citadel, Military College of South Carolina.

Selection Committee members of the Marshall Youth Leadership Award were impressed with the high caliber of dedication and accomplishments demonstrated by this year’s thirty-seven nominees. "We extend our heartfelt congratulations and best wishes to the recipient, Alena Jarvis, and all of the award nominees," said Tom Hagley Jr., Marshall Youth Leadership Award selection committee co-chair. "This program continues to spotlight the outstanding service contributions and future leadership potential of youth in Clark County. We're proud of their many accomplishments." Each nominee demonstrated traits of General Marshall by providing exceptional leadership and service to their schools in the Clark County community. It is clear that the 2016 recipient, Alena Jarvis, is deserving of this award.

The Trust would like to thank all participants of this program and awards event and looks forward to continuing the tradition next year. Special thanks go to Riverview Community Bank for their sponsorship of the General George C. Marshall Public & Youth Leadership award programs. We are also grateful for 40 et 8, Voiture 99’s support of the youth scholarship. These important leadership programs would not be possible without the support of these generous sponsors.


Rate this blog entry:
Tags: Array